Awesome Easy Rich Chocolate Cake

text - dora cake

I love making my kids birthday cakes; I am no expert but my non arty-crafty self finds it quite fun puddling away into the wee small hours to create something fun for my kids and the delight on their faces is always worth it. But the best discovery along the way has been my “go to” chocolate cake recipe – this tastes amazing, is a lovely dense cake so holds up to any icing you desire and stays fresh for some time. This is not an original recipe so thanks to someone out there for making this up – thanks to Tracey for passing it onto me and thanks be to god for chocolate……

Ingredients

Sift & add together the following in a large bowl and combine well (please note I hardly EVER sift anything I am baking, but please feel free to!)

2 Cups Plain Flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 Cup cocoa
1 1/2 Cups Sugar

In a separate bowl add

2 lightly beaten eggs
1/2 Cup oil
1 Tablespoon malt vinegar
1 Cup Milk
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
1 Cup black coffee (I add 250mls cold water and 1 tsp of coffee, mix well then add to wet ingredients)

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix well until combined. Pour into a greased baking tin (approx. 25 x 25), bake at 180 deg Celsius (355 Fahrenheit) for approx. 45mins or just until skewer comes out clean, set timer for 30-35 to test first as different pans and ovens will show a different result. Allow to cool in the pan – turn out onto a board or rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container until you are ready to ice.

I often make 1 1/2 times this recipe for larger cakes. I just love the odd ingredients in this one, the fact I NEVER drink or eat anything coffee flavoured attests to the fact this tastes nothing like coffee! Or malt vinegar for that matter! Odd baking science at its best…. Can also be used for cupcakes, just shorten baking time to around 15-20 minutes and check to see if they bounce back then they are done.

Will post a great Chocolate Ganache recipe soon which goes with this a treat – think chocolately goodness, covered in chocolately decadence – add berries and you might have just gone to heaven 🙂

text cakes

One thought on “Awesome Easy Rich Chocolate Cake

  1. Pingback: Puppy Dog Cupcakes! | Just A Mum

I welcome your comments & feedback - Leave a reply here

