Weekend Brunch – Pikelets Recipe

Pikelets 8
I am sure every Kiwi has the Edmonds Cookbook and the Pikelet Recipe but thought I would share this one for my US friends & those where Pikelets are just an odd sort of pancake!

Pikelets are traditionally served with berry jam & cream – but honestly you can use any topping or spread you like – my kids will even use honey & peanut butter! They are thicker & smaller than pancakes and often served cold – although I try to keep mine a little warm and serve straight away – but you can also pop them in an airtight container to serve later in the day.

Pikelets 10

This is such a simple recipe & takes no time at all to whip up.

Ingredients

1 Cup plain flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 egg
1/4 Cup sugar
3/4 Cup Milk

Method

Sift together the flour, baking powder and salt into a bowl (worth nothing I never sift anything – so it all goes in and a quick whisk is the best it gets!)

Pikelets 2

In another bowl beat egg and sugar until thick – I use my handheld electric beater but a food mixer or strong arm on a whisk will do the same thing.

Pikelets 1

The sugar & egg should form ribbons off the beater & be thick and pale in colour

Pikelets 3

Add this mixture with the milk to the sifted ingredients and mix until smooth. I then pour the mixture into a jug to make pouring the pancakes onto the pan easier.

Pikelets 4

Cook Tablespoonsful on a hot greased girdle (*see below for random fact) or non stick frying pan – I sometimes use a small amount of butter on a kitchen paper towel to lightly grease or cooking spray. Turn Pikelets over when bubbles start to burst on the top surface.

Pikelets 5

Cook both sides until golden. What I do next is something my Mum always did – not sure where she got the idea from! But I always lay a tea towel on a plate in half and lift the tea towel to add the pikelets to and cover again to keep them warm.

Pikelets 7

Serve the pikelets with a lovely berry jam and whipped cream – or maple syrup, marmite & peanut butter for the less posh amongst us!

Feel free to add crazy faces with sultanas or chocolate chips!

Feel free to add crazy faces with sultanas or chocolate chips!

This recipe makes 8-10, I usually double it. Great recipe to add food colouring too if you are needing green something for St Patrick’s Day!

Pikelets 10

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I have since I was a little girl.

(*) So a girdle – I had to double check my recipe – surely the mean griddle??? But no apparently not – in Scotland its called a girdle, in Ireland its a griddle & the Welsh call it a bakestone – well that’s what Google told me so what do you call it??

For more recipes & fun ideas for kids I would love for you to head over to My Facebook Page and hit LIKE – I upload something most days and would love to share with you more of my families ideas.

Hope you have a wonderful day, let me know how you get on with this recipe in the comments below – if you cannot see the comments – open the post & they should appear!

Enjoy 😀

I welcome your comments & feedback - Leave a reply here

