My Mum’s Vanilla Biscuits

Vanilla Biscuits 2

Today I would like to share with you a recipe from my Mum – I am quite sure she did not invent the recipe but in my mind it may as well be hers! These cookies were a constant when I was growing up – the go to cookie recipe for any occasion and they are so so tasty. They are crispy, buttery, sugary and great with either sultanas or chocolate chips. A really basic recipe that takes no time to whip up.

Ingredients

125g Butter
250g Sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 Egg
250g Flour
1 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 cup of Sultanas or Chocolate Chips

Method

Preheat Oven to 175C.

Cream butter, sugar and vanilla essence together until smooth and creamy. Add egg and mix well. Combine dry ingredients including sultanas or chocolate chips and blend until all mixed through.

Roll a tablespoon sized amount of mixture together in damp hands and pop on a cold greased or lined tray. Press slightly with a damp fork.

Bake for approx. 13 – 16 minutes until slightly golden in colour.

Remove from the oven and after a few minutes remove onto a wire rack or newspaper to cool completely. They will be soft when removed from oven but will crisp up on standing.

Vanilla Biscuits 1

Easy as that! Store in an airtight container and they last well – if you don’t eat them all that is!

I hope you enjoy this quick tasty biscuit recipe from my family to yours.

While you are here check out my other recipes and pop your email address into the field on the left to get an email when I post a new recipe – or also follow me on Facebook & Twitter.

Have a wonderful day, thanks for stopping by 🙂

vanilla biscuits 3

2 thoughts on “My Mum’s Vanilla Biscuits

I welcome your comments & feedback - Leave a reply here

